2015 Winner
Dr. Heather Boon
2013 Winner
Dr. Sunita Vohra
2011 Winner
Dr. Marja Verhoef
2009 Co-Winner
Dr. Hal Gunn
2009 Co-Winner
Dr. Bud Rickhi
 2007 Co-Winner
 Dr. Alastair Cunningham
  2007 Co-Winner
Dr. Abram Hoffer

Dr. Heather Boon, 2015
Dr. Boon is Dean for the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. Her 25 year career was sparked by a recognition of the large number of Canadians using "alternative" medicine and how little research existed. She is a key player in the development of the Centre for Integrative Medicine, a joint venture between the University of Toronto and The Scarborough Hospital. She was a driving force behind the establishment of the IN-CAM network and the International Society for Complementary Medicine Research. She is a leader of the highest integrity and a champion of collaboration across disciplines.

Learn more about the 2015 Dr. Rogers Prize
Dr. Sunita Vohra, 2013
Dr. Vohra is the founding Director of Canada’s first academic pediatric integrative medicine program, CARE (Complementary and Alternative Medicine Research and Education) at Stollery Hospital in Edmonton. She has led many high-quality studies of the effectiveness of CAM therapies. With her background in pediatrics, clinical epidemiology and clinical pharmacology, Dr. Vohra is a well-respected leader in both CAM and conventional medicine, often bridging the two communities.

Learn more about the 2013 Dr. Rogers Prize
Dr. Marja Verhoef, 2011
Dr. Verhoef was awarded Canada’s first Research Chair in Complementary Medicine at the University of Calgary in 2001. She has been a driving force behind the establishment of several Canadian networks promoting and enabling partnerships among those interested in complementary, alternative and integrative medicine. The most well-known of these is the IN-CAM network, a virtual organization sparking collaboration among researchers and practitioners in Canada, North America and internationally. She was the first President of the International Society of Complementary Medicine Research. She has been a tireless advocate of appropriate research methods for the often multi-faceted approaches that fall under the umbrella of complementary and alternative medicine.

Learn more about the 2011 Dr. Rogers Prize
Dr. Hal Gunn, 2009
Dr. Gunn took the fledgling Centre for Integrated Therapy, created by Dr. Rogers, and evolved it into today’s InspireHealth, looking after hundreds of cancer patients per year. The InspireHealth approach is a model for integrated cancer care focused not solely on the cancer, but on treating the whole person.
Dr. Badri (Bud) Rickhi, 2009
Dr. Rickhi established the Research Centre for Alternative Medicine, now the Canadian Institute for Natural and Integrative Medicine (CINIM), and played a key role in establishing the Integrative Health Institute at Mount Royal College.

Learn more about the 2009 Dr. Rogers Prize
Dr. Alastair Cunningham, 2007
Dr. Cunningham’s pioneering work was the important role of the mind and its effect on the immune system, particularly in cancer patients. In the face of extreme skepticism, he started teaching psychological and spiritual approaches to patients and documenting the effects. The first class was in his living room. Twenty-five years later his program, known as The Healing Journey or Wellspring, has helped thousands of cancer patients and their families in Canada and around the world.
Dr. Abram Hoffer, 2007
Dr. Hoffer’s groundbreaking work was in establishing the paradigm of orthomolecular medicine. He was one of the first to advance and establish the critical value of proper nutrition, minerals and vitamins in health and wellness and the elimination of toxic foods in treating disease. His stubborn pursuit of non-toxic orthomolecular approaches to mental and physical disorders has helped thousands of patients with conditions ranging from schizophrenia to cancer.

Learn more about the 2007 Dr. Rogers Prize